The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much discussion whether individual information stored in the internet businesses such as Facebook and Amazon are safe and have positive effects for the general public or the opposite. This essay would argue that the drawbacks of personal details owned by Information Technology (IT) companies outweigh its benefits for the following reasons. To begin with, it might be claimed that filling in details individual information while signing up a social media account could benefit people in terms of career prospects. This is because some online medias such as LinkedIn, requires their users to input work and education experiences, skills, and strengths which can be seen by employers and recruiters worldwide. Consequently, even though their personal information is exposed, many job seekers obtain the advantage which is hired by the prestigious company and received a stable monthly income. On the other hand, several cyberattack cases happened due to the fact that people personal information like, bank account number leak from their social media account and being misused. Furthermore, most of hackers not only misuse the account, but also steal people’s electronic money. For instance, in 2020, one of the biggest e-commerce companies in Indonesia, Tokopedia, was hacked and approximately thousands of their users data and e-money were stolen. Additionally, hackers behind the cybercrimes are very difficult to be tracked because of their high skill in manipulating locations using technology. Therefore, the stolen money through cyberattacks is difficult to be obtained back. In conclusion, even though there is a positive effect by filling our detail information in digital media such as hired by employers, I still would argue that the drawbacks still outweigh its advantage because the rate cyberattacks is keep increasing and hackers could steal people e-money and misuse individual data.