Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.

There has been much debate whether school and university should teach students how to be the useful individuals in society or it is better to focus on helping younger generations to acquire their goals. In my opinion, it is better for education institutions aiming students to be beneficial for public for the following reasons. To begin with, it might be claimed that teaching youngsters to obtain a well-paid job is an obligation for teachers. This is because students have made effort and spent more than ten years to study until they graduate from university. In addition, parents have spent a great deal of money for tuition fee that probably some adolescents might take a part in the earning money process as well. Therefore, it can be said that there are always families and students themselves who play a significant role to obtain a degree, when it is rare for students to get support from the general public in terms of money and other study facilities. However, focusing to teach young people to acquire their goals has negative effects. This is because educational institutions could shape youngsters become more individualistic and self-centered people. Furthermore, a survey depicts that self-centered children tend to get stressed easily and prone to do suicide if they fail to achieve their high ambitions. On the other hand, giving students insight and skills how to be the useful individuals in society could decrease selfishness and increase happiness, because helping others could give people satisfaction as well as affection from the people they help. In conclusion, even though young adults and their families have spent time, money and effort to study and graduate from school, it does not mean school curriculum should focus in helping them only achieve their ambitions. I would argue it is better to teach them to more helpful people because they will obtain plenty of advantages.