When a country becomes richer the natural environment suffers. It is not possible for a country to both develop its economy and protect the environment.

There is a commonly held belief is that the country’s economy development is the main cause of current environmental issues and it is impossible to achieve a prosperous economy and save the environment from harm at the same time. While I agree with the former idea, I do believe that there are several solutions that can be done to maintain both prosperity and ecosystem. It is often pointed out that there are two primary reasons why the more wealthy the nation is, the more problems its nature has to face. Firstly, due to the rapid industrialization of many developing countries, enormous areas of forests are cut down to construct factories and buildings. Consequently, the wildlife habitats are destroyed and various species have become extinct. Secondly, humans have exploited and extracted natural resources for metals, raw materials for making products and producing energy. For example, strip mining minerals near riverbanks can lead to soil erosion and degradation of estuaries. Nevertheless, I believe most of the environmetal troubles are the result of human greed and choosing the simplest ways of living off the environtment without being concerned about long-term effects. In order to make the situation better, much effort and financing are required from large institutions and the government. For instance, fossil fuels shoud be replaced by renewable energy such as hydroelectricity or solar power to halt the deterioration of natural resources and emvironmental exploitation. Moreover, modern countries have redundant budgets to invest in ecofriendly technologies which play an integral role in tackle the negative effects of human beings’ activities on the environment. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that a number of rich countries has harmed their environments in various ways. However, if proper measures are taken immediately, there is no reason why the natural environment can be threaten.