societies with younger population

Allegedly in some countries, a considerable percentage of the population is in their youth. Is it beneficial to society to consist of mostly young people, or it works against its prosperity and growth? The probable answers to this question will be examined in this essay. Firstly, consider a society that includes mostly young adult individuals as the majority of its population. Based on the characteristics that apply to the youngsters, wider segments of society will be eligible to join the workforce. Since younger people are usually more interested in learning and participating in new activities, there is better potential to increase the general educational level the society. Furthermore, since the nation is facing a negligible number of senior citizens, fewer resources and government funds could be appropriated for public health or retirement funds. With deeper scrutiny, it can be seen that specific social phenomena are more prevalent in particular demographics; For instance, the major percentage of people committing a crime are mostly young. Besides this negative aspect, there are other drawbacks to a younger society, for instance, lack of experience might lead the society into an undesirable situation due to poor decision making. Considering the sociopolitical perspective, one might argue that even though younger people respond to change in a much more flexible manner compared to older ones, but it still can be a struggle to govern a younger group of people in terms of policy-making. To conclude, all societies are facing somewhat similar issues generally but a variation in the demographic structure would change these issues in terms of frequency or severity. Considering the aforementioned arguments, a younger society may have a better potential for economic advantages and some social improvements, as long as it does not neglect its senior citizens and their experience.