What would be the effects if children and parents in a family reversed roles, that is, if the children took on the role of parents, and parents took on the role of children? Use reasons and examples to support your ideas.

It is undoubtedly true that the relationships between family members have become increasingly distant and indifferent in recent years. Some people believe that switching roles between parents and children would help them better understand each other. However, this phenomenon could lead to several serious results. In some cases, children have to assume parental responsibilities, they would experience feelings of shame, guilt and incompetence. The primary reason for this could be that there is a lack of development in the youngsters. Suddenly, they are expected to accomplish things they have never done and have never been taught before, especially, taking care of a loved one is one of the toughest things which they have to undertake. No matter how much the children are motivated by love, decency, and appreciation for their parents, it seems weird, after being taken care of for a long time, to become caregiving. The word "care" sounds quite simple, yet it encompasses not only household chores such as cooking and laundry, but also the expense of living. Followed by Shawn Ee 3 July, 2017, from the standpoint of developmental psychopathology, difficulties imposed on the kid may lead to psychopathology if the youngster is unable to cope with the expectations. Another consequence of reversing roles is that parents have to depend on their children. Previously, parents were self-sufficient individuals who led and supported their children; nevertheless, in this situation, they live in a state of dependency and even poverty. For instance, when parents suffer from age-related ailments, they require a great deal of attention and care from their children in both emotional and physical health. In conclusion, if parents and children took on each other's roles, there would be two consequences: the negative feelings of the children and the reliant life of parents. Sometimes, people should put themselves in the position of someone in order to empathise because life is defined by understanding and sharing.