Effects of early marriage

Early marriage is not an unfamiliar concept in society from then till now. Statistics show that 33% of women in developing countries marry early, which is not likely to stop increasing. Unfortunately, the negative consequences of this trend have raised great concern from the public. In which, compatibility issues and lack of learning opportunities are the most significant. The most obvious effect of early marriage is it can cause compatibility issues. Many young people see marriage as a mission, a great goal that must be achieved as soon as possible. Therefore, instead of spending time getting to know each other, they rush into a marriage when they are not mature enough. As people develop, their maturity level and perspective will change. This may lead to a lack of understanding between each other and result in conflicts that put an end to a marriage. Secondly, engaging in marriage at an early age means losing opportunities to learn and experience. Early marriage goes hand in hand with a lot of responsibilities. While women may have to quit their current education or job to fulfill the duty of motherhood: getting pregnant and taking care of children. Men who marry at a young age have to become the breadwinners shouldering all the expenses of the whole family. Carrying too many responsibilities can cause them to interrupt their studies and opportunities as well as experience and self-development. In conclusion, early marriage can result in two negative effects mentioned above: compatibility issues and lack of learning opportunities. Getting married is an important event in life. At a young age, everyone should consider carefully as well as equip themselves with sufficient knowledge about health and psychology before getting married.