What was the environment in which you were raised? Describe your family, home, neighborhood or community, and explain how it has shaped you as a person.

On the first page of my diary, there is a line that my dad always told me when I was a kid, “Everyone has a different start on the race to the success. Even if you are not at an ideal place, in the beginning, it is your endeavor and determination of your dream that will speed you up to reach the finish line of that race. ” The place where I am at in the beginning is not as impressive as others. However, I never let it limit my ambitions; but instead, it is the light that fires my effort to achieve my dream. I was born in a middle-income family in Ho Chi Minh city. It is the place for people who come from different parts of Vietnam, who have different circumstances strive for a ticket of changing their life. My parents are among them. All of the parents have to work hard to improve the lives of us, their children. Every day in my childhood did not begin with a hot cup of milk carefully prepared by the warm hands of my mom, did not end with a couple pages of fairy tales told by the heartwarming voice of my dad. My mom left home at 3 am for work. My dad had a three-hour ride to his workplace by a broken-down motorbike that he bought when he got into college. Looking at my dad’s tired eyes when he came back home very late after work, or seeing my mom staying up late for housework, I try to be independent, so they do not have any worries about me. When I was in primary school, I finished my academic work right after classes so that my mom does not have to check it every night. When I was in Junior High School, I went to school by public buses so my dad could sleep 30 minutes more before his day of work. When I got into high school in Vietnam, I started using my motorcycle to go anywhere around the city. The more I grow up, the more I understand my parents’ hard work. Therefore, I share in their hard work whenever I have free time. My mom and I go to the kitchen and prepare the meal together every weekend. I help my dad take my little brother to school and extra classes when I have my own motorcycle. After their long days of work, I want to help them get over their tiredness by spending my time caring about them. Whenever my dad gets home late, he and I enjoy cups of hot chamomile tea and good conversation about his work together at the dining room table. Whenever my mom buys me a new pair of shoes, I ask her whether she also bought herself a new dress. I feel fortunate that my parents always do their best to support my ambitions. They never let finances get in the way of my dreams and passions. As a result, I always take seriously all the opportunities that my parents provide me. As a public school student in Vietnam, I had almost no preparation to study abroad. However, I still maintained that passion and self-learned English at home, taking some extra English courses to improve my proficiency. Even though my parents could not pay the full tuition for studying abroad, I earned a scholarship to help them pay for my studies in the U. S. Even though my family could only buy me an old desktop to support my developing interest in computer science, I still tried to make it as useful as possible, by learning programming languages, video-editing on it. Luckily, this computer had errors and problems all the time, which provided me an exceptional opportunity to develop my interest of fixing computer problems. The more challenging and difficult my life is, the more effort and determination I put to pursue my dreams. I engage my life motto to transform failures, difficulties and opportunities in my life into power that helps me achieve my goals. Give me a single match, I will use it to make fireworks.