Although technology such as the Internet has increased the ease and speed with which people

from different countries communicate, there still exist misunderstandings about each other’s cultures and beliefs. For example, people seem to be no closer in their understanding of faiths other than their own. Communication technology may have the potential to improve the world, but we have not exploited that potential to best effect. Drivers who exceed safe speed limits, for example, cause many accidents. In addition, drivers often overtake when it is not safe to do so, such as on sharp bends. Finally, many road deaths are due to people driving when under the influence of alcohol. Have the recent rapid developments in communication technology made the world a better place? It is sometimes said that modern technology has helped create greater understanding between nations. However, there is little evidence to support this view. There is, of course, a human factor involved in road safety. Most road accidents are caused by careless and irresponsible driving. These are just a few examples of how human error or recklessness can lead to tragedy on the roads.