What should we do to solve the housing problem in big cities?

It is obvious that in big cities, the supply of houses is unable to meet the need for shelters. No matter how urgent it is, we still have some feasible measures to tackle this housing problem. Firstly, building more apartments instead of houses might help mitigate the issue about housing shortage. Since an apartment can accommodate a tremendously higher number of people than a house can, governments should encourage the citizens to buy flats rather than their own houses. The flats, therefore, should be fully and comfortably furnished as well as at an affordable price. Secondly, it is highly recommended that governments restrict the increase in population, which help decrease the excessive demand for houses. This could be done by limiting the number of children born in families. In Vietnam, for example, because of the large population, the government enforces the rule that each Vietnamese family must not bear more than two children. In conclusion, the housing shortage is becoming an acute problem in many cities. However, we can still address this problem with cited solutions.