Solar energy is becoming more and more popular in households, why is this so? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

At the present moment, there has been a steep increase in the use of solar energy in homes and industries, because it has several environmental advantages as well as potentials to meet the growing challenges facing the world. There are a plethora of benefits and advantages associated wit its use, however, does that make it devoid of disadvantages? This essay will discuss the benefits, as well as the pros and cons of solar energy yet to overcome. The sun gives us an endless source of clean, sustenance energy that can be consumed freely without polluting the environment. Solar energy has gained popularity because it is renewable, non-polluting, and available planet wide, reaching areas lacking access to electrical grid such as remote Africa. To begin with, solar energy is a truly renewable source of energy, as it can be harnessed in all areas of the world, besides being available everyday. Another chief advantage is that it reduces the amount of money spent on electricity, ! invariably, bringing electric bills to a drop, as well as requiring low maintenance cost for sustenability. In spite of these, solar energy does possess some down sides, with the foremost being its dependency on weather. Although it can be collected during cloudy and rainy days, the efficiency of the solar system drops as most solar panels depend on the sun to effectively gather solar energy. Similarly, the initial cost and installation of solar system is fairly high, besides storage of energy remains quite expensive. In conclusion, the use of solar panels have made significant difference to the planet, polluting far less than other alternative energy source. The increased competition of market prices, together with the constantly developing technologies of solar panels present an avenue for the cost to become cheaper in the future.