What should people do to show politeness in a family meal in Vietnam?

There are some certain dining etiquette rules in Vietnam that everyone should know. First of all, bringing gifts to the host family when you are invited. This is one of the useful pieces of advice that people should not ignore, no matter how close the guest is to the host family. This action shows not only your appreciation for the host’s invitation but also courtesy. You can give a box of chocolate or even cookies if the host family has kids. Likewise, you can bring something nutritious for the elder. Secondly, saying “have a good meal” before and after the meal is not disregarded. It is customary that the juniors must invite the entire seniors to enjoy the meal at first and repeat this phrase after eating. If you don’t follow this rule, you will be considered as an uneducated or rude person. Thirdly, sticking chopsticks in the middle of the rice bowl is taboo. This conception is affected to a greater or less degree by Buddhism. It is believed that positioning chopsticks vertically resembles incense burned into rice to honor the dead people. Hence, you should lay chopsticks across the rice bowl after finishing the meal. Last but not least, during the meal, you should use both hands with the aim of showing the behavior of respect. In a little more detail, make sure that you receive and pass dishes towards the elderly with both hands. Furthermore, if you wanted a second or third serving, you should ask the host sincerely, pass the bowl by both hands and do not forget to say “thank you”. Briefly stated, following good table manners can help you to prevent unintentionally causing discomfort to other people, thereby making an enjoyable meal.