What school marks can do?

Up to now, scores have been a standard to judge one’s studying process at school, but in these days, it is driving students to considerable stress. This becomes a hot educational topic for debate. These following lines gives three main personal views of the writer and discusses about whether people should or should not eliminate giving scores at school. First of all, it is recognized that school mark contributes a small part to show how a learner studies and motivate his learning habit. As a fact that, exams are given by each term and students have to acquire all the information from textbooks and even extra materials. In the tests, the questions from low to high level may perform the width of knowledge that learners comprehend. However, this may lead to a substantial pressure on them because not all of them are able to be good at every field, but they have to get higher marks only in order not to be ashamed. Second of all, school mark is not everything because sometimes good score does not mean a student can perfectly solve matters of subjects. For instance, in many countries that schools do not get enough conditions to support tools for students like Vietnam, the natural subjects such as Physics, Biology and Chemistry are only studied through paper documents and videos of experiments. Consequently, the tests of these subjects are only theories and impractical because learners are not able to do real experiments in person. Therefore, scores are meaningless without practicing. Finally, the writer will discuss if school marks should be removed or not. In one hand, when a students who wants to apply for scholarship of a university she dreams, her good result at high school, together with extracurricular activities or projects she attended and managed, will be an advantage. Thus, score is a basic sector of condition to purchase a scholarship. However, in other hand, this is usual for those who are extremely excellent, but rare for normal people. As it is obviously known, each person is expert in various gifted abilities, so we must determine what we are good at and make a plan to pursue our dreams. Hence, in the writer’s opinion, scores do not have to be deleted as we just need to know what we want to do and our true purposes to study, not because of being afraid of losing face.