What is your view on pen and paper evaluations

Learning is a process of acquiring new knowledge and skills. It involves different steps and one of the traditional ways of learning is through studying or being taught. In the process of learning, evaluation is an important tool not just for the teachers but also the students to measure the level reached throughout the whole process. A traditional way of assessing knowledge o skill gained is through pen and paper examination. Pen and paper evaluations usually involve different types of activities ranging from answering a multiple-choice question to writing an essay. It has been the most used evaluation strategy for many because of its convenience especially if we are talking about large class. The question however is whether it is the best method to assess educational achievement of everyone. Each of us has different capabilities and we do not share the same techniques and capacities in learning. Some people are more wired to into learning languages easily while others may find learning mathematics just like eating a piece of cake, or it can also be somewhere in-between for many. Psychologically speaking, people also have different responses to different types of assessments, some may get anxious and nervous, some may find it fulfilling among many other types of emotions and reactions, one may get from every student. In other words, educators and different institutions must consider exploring different options to diversify and adapt evaluations according to the capabilities, needs, and situation of each learner. In conclusion, the pen and paper evaluations, while useful and convenient, must not be used as the sole evaluation model to assess learning. It is important to note that diversifying evaluations would not only serve as a good indicator of learning but also allow validation of how much has been achieved during the process that will benefit everyone, especially the students.