Some people prefer to spend one or two years travelling or working after they finished secondary education, and then start university. Do you regard it as a positive or negative phenomenon?

Studying at university is a phenomenon exerting enormous pressure on students. A great number of students decide to take a year or two-years gap before going to university, and, instead, explore the world and enjoy by travelling and gain work experience. I firmly believe that these activities open up new horizons for students, which is invaluable for them in the near future. Undoubtedly, pursuing higher education is of great importance for every student, but take a gap to travel provide a context in which students can discover their real passion and interest for fulfilling a career and help them to decide better what to study at university. This is a golden opportunity to become more independent, which is crucial for university life. In addition, having visited historical places and become familiar with different cultures, students obtain a profound insight into global issues. Consequently, be responsible and not be indifferent to other nations and societies have been taught to students. This is why travelling is regarded as a better understanding of the world and even interests and needs of one. Secondly, working before starting tertiary education brings tremendous benefits. In the first stage, working contributes to students feel a sense of identity, self-satisfaction and self-respect. It gives them an opportunity to earn money and reduce the financial burden of academic education to an extent. Furthermore, working can help students to boost their intrapersonal skills and interpersonal skills like socialization and teamwork. Having acquired these skills, students will have better performance at university in comparison with unskilled students who do not experience working. In fact, in a competitive world where work experience is critically important, working after finishing secondary education causes building more and better job opportunity in future and being successful in university courses. In brief, I hold the view that taking a break before pursuing academic education to travel and work is a considerable experience broadening one's knowledge and attitude toward the world or even private life and improving one's skills. These changes lead to students not only have better performance in university or college but also flourish in a future job career.