What is your most vivid childhood memory? Are you still in touch with your childhood friends? What was your favorite toy when you were a child? Is it important for children to have fun?

People’s life expectancy in the 21st century has been rising on an unprecedented scale. As a result, policymakers are now considering extending the working age for old people. Prolonged life is, on the one hand, a welcome change for many individuals, yet I believe this is completely not a good idea for old people to continue to work due to several reasons related to their deteriorated work performance and capability to adapt to new technologies. Breakthroughs in medicine and heightened awareness of nutrition are the two key factors leading to longevity. For example, nanotechnology, with tiny robots being injected into patients’ body and mending all their damaged organs, are believed to the one of the secrets to obliterate any currently incurable diseases such as cancer. Additionally, people nowadays are better aware of the importance of a good diet, and such wise consumption can ensure good health and consequently extended age. However, extending people’s working age can be a catastrophe to both senior citizens and companies. The majority of people at the age of 65 or over, especially in developing countries, are unable to maintain the same degree of performance as their younger counterparts. This would eventually give rise to many unwanted repercussions that affect the company’s overall profits and the personal life of the aged workers as well. Also, the fast-paced life requires quick adaption and adjustments to new technology, and this is something that the elderly may never be on par with the younger ones. It is not an overstatement to say that it is a torture to work in a place where you are both physically and technologically inferior to your younger co-workers. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that old people should not be involved in work any longer than their designated retirement age now. If the need for workforce is urgent, old people can, to a certain extent, work as consultants or mentors rather than the main labor force.