What is the most important animal in your country? Why is this animal important?

Turkey is one of the gifted countries that have a significant nature along with its resources. The country is a half-island which means that it is surrounded by important seas like Mediterranean Sea, Black Sea and Marmara Sea. Throughout the country, one can come across different floras in diversifying areas, varying with the weather due to changing climate types. Also, it serves a habitat to many endemic species for many years so that there is a natural history museum in the capital of Turkey that showcases many of fossils of these animals or plants. However, one kind of them stands out among the others which is a bird: demoiselle crane. First of all, demoiselle crane is crucial for the culture in Turkey. Many Turkish people symbolize the bird as a lover, a broken heart or blessing. For example, there is a folk song belongs to Anatolian singers named after demoiselle crane and it had been started to become a popular one among society since 1980s. The song puts the bird into a pure beautiful woman, and then the man expresses his broken feelings about not reaching her while she flies over the sky away from him. In addition, covers of this song have been made by famous singers and bands so that other generations have a chance to listen the version which they like the most. Furthermore, when a folk see the bird near the village, it means that the coming days will be rich, peaceful and wealth for the people living there. Also, the bird has religious meanings for local community even though it is a migrant bird. For some beliefs, this sacred bird represents immortality, so it correlated with the God. Thus, demoiselle crane has an important role for the culture of local community. Secondly, demoiselle crane’s itself shows the significance of other birds which are becoming endangered species in the Turkey. Unfortunately, unwanted human activities contribute most of the number of species to decline including climate change, ruining their habitats and unwanted hunting. Therefore, demoiselle crane become a kind of bird that avoids to migrate their natural habitats in the East region of Turkey like their sister taxa. As a result of this, demoiselle crane is under protection by World Wide Fund of Nature (WWF) in Turkey. There is an increasing hope by ornithologists that we may across with this bird again in the limits of the country depending on news that the bird was seen 17 years after in the city, Bitlis. To conclude, Turkey gives the importance in demoiselle crane even it is not an endemic species. Thus, a foreigner can observe the effects of this bird in the country’s culture and many naturalist defends the presence of this bird in the country.