What is the importance of collecting and interpreting data and information about competitors?

Competitors are the rivals of a business organization. Business organizations continuously compete with its competitors to cooldown the negative impact they get from its competitors. Competitors are those other businesses which offer similar products or services to the customer. Nowadays competitors are one of the most vulnerable forces which can impact a business and could even destroy the whole customer base of other businesses. The competition is now very high in the market. In this era of innovation businesses are going through constant competition. Those organizations who analyze their competitors, track all their moves, collect all data and information about their competitors' strategies, their strengths and weaknesses, how they are generating customers, and their business process get the competitive advantage. Competitive analysis helps a business to make the right decisions and moves at the right time. In this present time sustaining in the market depends on innovation. Due to the high demand of innovation and new features by customers, every competitor working on innovation spent a lot of time on what new could be introduced in the market which would help them to retain their customer for a long time and compete with their competitors. We can look at the giant organization Nokia which collapsed due to not focusing on competitors. Nokia was the market leader of mobile phone industries once but they did not work on innovation which ultimately turned them into failure in the race of competition. Therefore collecting, interpreting data and information about competitors is very crucial in terms of achieving sustainability, generating new strategies, and for retaining customers for a longer time.