What is the disadvantages and advantages of running a family business?

It is no wonder that working with the family members has some conflicts between each other in the workplace as we have in personal life. There are a few factors that cause business failure and conflicts between family members and non-family staff. Firstly, different point of views and personality of each family member leads to conflicts in doing business. For example, some of the family members are not convinced by the ideas you come up with and even worse they think that your idea will result in business destruction. When both sides cannot be able to make compromise, dispute occur. Secondly, conflicts that take place in family business can bring to the personal home life, tearing the closeness between siblings, spouse and parents apart. In other words, conflicts arise when the family responsibilities and the work responsibilities interfere each other, resulting in interrole conflicts. It is not easy to get rid of the personal feelings on your family members in the workplace (Tregurtha n. d. ). Thirdly, delays and emotional involvement in deciding business succession cause drawback. Family members do not take much actions on discussing business succession, which is unprofessional attitude towards the business (Agarwal 2012). The lack of future planning heading straight to wrong decisions and business failure. Furthermore, every family member wants to be successor in most cases. Competition between siblings becomes intense as different family members are longing for the same position. In this case of deciding on successors for the business’s continued success, the current owner should be focus on objectives rather than emotions so that the business will still be making progress and lasting into the second generation. Finally, showing favoritism upon family members create inequality and frustration for non-family staffs. Due to inherent love among family members, non-family employees get less chance of promotion and therefore they might feel apathetic on the business activities.