SOCIAL MEDIA IMPACTS ON SOCIAL AND ECONOMY

Social media is any digital tool that allow the creation or exchange of information, ideas, interests, and other forms of expression via virtual communities and networks. It is becoming quite popular these days because of its user-friendly features. And The essay will show the impacts of social media on society and the economy. In the economy, communication affects people's consumption to help people consume more, helping the economy develop. It is also an important economic sector of a country, creating jobs and creating value for the economy. Through the media, businesses can promote products and services, help buyers recognize and use products and services. Communication also creates consumer demand for products and services, helps companies create jobs for many people, and helps the economy grow. More than 90% of a business' marketing budget is used to advertise products and services to attract consumers to recognize and use their products and services. In addition to helping economic growth, social networks also contribute significantly to social life. Although virtual interactions on social media do not provide the same psychological benefits as face-to-face contact, there are still many positive ways to help you treat mental illnesses. Moreover, Social media enables you to communicate and stay up to date with family and friends around the world. One of the most humane benefits of social media is probably ability to seek emotional and physical support during tough times. For example, during the covid pandemic, through social networks, we can call for donations to help patients with covid or difficult situations due to the impact of the pandemic. However, the media also affects the fact that people are increasingly consuming more than they need. People are working more and more to serve consumer needs. Material values ​​are increasingly valued by society over spiritual values. Excessive production and consumption will destroy the environment and adversely affect people's lives. This tool also has its duality, if the information and images transmitted are negative, the impact of the media also creates negative effects on public objects in society. multiple studies have found a strong link between heavy social media and an increased risk for depression, anxiety, loneliness, self-harm, and even suicidal thought. Human beings need face-to-face contact to be mentally healthy. Nothing reduces stress and boosts your mood faster or more effectively than eye-to-eye contact with someone who cares about you. The more you prioritize social media interaction over in-person relationships, the more you’re at risk for developing or exacerbating mood disorders such as anxiety and depression. In conclusion, social networking is a double-edged sword if the knife user does not know how to balance between real life and virtual network.