Museums should display the history of their own country or the other countries as well? paxed

For some time now, it has become a topic of debate where a section of society advocates that museums and art exhibitions should pay much more attention to their country’s historical work than other works from different places, whilst other disagree. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the aforementioned notion due to the reasons encompassed below. To begin with, it is often thought that museums and art galleries need to display only their country’s history through ancient artefacts and art galleries. By doing so, they are increasing the bond between citizen’s and their culture; besides, they are most likely not to be affected by other’s history. Furthermore, the more the local works to be shown, the more the citizens to be attracted to their customs and traditions. Adding to above, there are some cultures that start to vanish such as the Babylonian culture in Iraq mainly because their museums and art exhibitions exhibit lots of works from other countries. Nevertheless, on the other hand, others believe that they are not living alone so they need to get in touch with other nations by exploring their history and artefacts. On top of that, by learning new customs and traditions, the cultural distance between different nations will decline and as a result, the world will be become a united family. Finally, museums are the platforms which provide opportunity to many scholars to research about ancient skills and techniques which are beneficial for survival of the society. For instance, mummies extracted from Egyptian Pyramids are kept in different museums worldwide so that scientists can explore the ancient science behind preserving bodies for thousands of years without any modern technology. To conclude, although some people think that it is better for museums and art galleries to show only their culture’s work, others believe that it is better to display other nation’s history, which I also opine too due to the reasons elaborated above.