what is the age of children to be given smartphones

This task deals with the issue of the appropriate age a child can be given a cellular phone. I most likely think that the optimal age of issuing a phone to a child is about 18 years as children before this age is naive and can be exposed to risks posed by the usage of mobile phone. Firstly, making a smartphone available to children before the age of 18 can increase the risk a child experiences. Kids younger than 18 years lack knowledge of the dangers of social media and other online activities such as gaming and gambling. People belonging to the younger generation may find these activities amusing and often get addicted to gaming which highly affects them in a negative way. Moreover having little command over the pros and cons of the cellular phone may lead to ambiguity about the features that can be accessed and the ones that have to be left out. Furthermore, teens can be often exposed to mature content on social media which can lead to highly disastrous results. One such example is about a kid I read online who was 16 years old made a credit card purchase worth 1800$ without his parent's consent. Secondly, at the age of 18 years, children acquire a sense of responsibility as a child's brain is more mature when compared to earlier ages. At this suitable age getting a child his/her personal phone can give out fruitful results. Access to the vast amount of information on the internet is at your fingertips. One such case is about a kid from my neighborhood who with access to a smartphone taught himself complex mathematics concepts which ultimately resulted in him winning a state Math olympiad. In conclusion, it can be stated that children belonging to the category of below 18 years are too naive and inexperienced to be issued a smartphone. People above 18 years when given a cellular phone can bring out the creative side in them which can bring out impressive results.