what is the advantages and disadvanteges of ecotourism

It has constantly been the subject of heated debate that ecotourism has significant advantages for many people. It is a fact that ecotourism has already become a popular and huge industry these days. It is my firm belief that the benefits of ecotourism are more sustainable than its demerits. That said, there are a few disadvantages that should be addressed. Above all, when indigenous cultures are regularly exposed to masses of tourists, their traditional cultural practices change or disappear. Locals may embrace and assimilate into tourists’ cultures, and they might abandon their own heritage. Tourists may also fail to respect local values and customs. It causes annoyance for the local people. The different cultures of strangers may disturb the local culture and causes social disruption. Secondly, although ecotourism tries its best to keep the adverse impact on environment to a minimum, chances are that the local wildlife will still be disturbed to a certain extent. When profit is involved, there is skepticism about the future of the ecosystem if the tourist organizations focus on marketing strategies alone without respect to the actual environment. On top of that, the wildlife getting distressed due to the human presence and this will affect their reproduction. Despite the aforementioned downsides, I believe that the merits of ecotourism are far greater than its demerits. First and foremost, it enables tourists to learn about the flora and fauna of a specific location. People can see the beauty of nature, and they have more chances of taking photos with beauty of nature. Another potential advantage is that ecotourism helps protect natural habitats and avoid pollution. For instance, ecotourists often shun cruise ships because these are among the biggest culprit in the tourism industry in terms of environmental pollution. The huge numbers of passengers on these ships generate many tons of garbage and wastewater, which is often dumped into the sea. Having considered a range of arguments, I have drawn the conclusion that although there are some negative impacts of ecotourism on local culture and wildlife, I believe that they are outweighed by the benefits it brings to the environment.