Sugary beverages, such as milk tea, boba, and soda, are extremely popular among young people, even as young as kindergarten students. Identify some serious problems that can emerge due to the phenomenon. What are some solutions that can be provided by the governments to tackle the problem?

Nowadays sugary beverages such as milk tea, boba, and soda are popular among young people, even as young as kindergarten students. This essay will discuss some serious problems that can emerge due to this phenomenon and propose some possible solutions that can be provided by the governments to tackle the problems. The main problems caused by drinking sugary beverages are diabetes and obesity. Research by WHO shows that drinking sugary beverages regularly for 1 to 2 cans a day or more, has a 26% greater risk of diabetes compared to young people who rarely drink it. Moreover, sugary beverages contain a large amount of sucrose or fructose, which have a fewer nutritional value of calories rather than other food. People who drink sugary beverages do not feel as full as if they eat solid food. It may cause people to keep eating even after drinking sugary beverages. As a result, it potentially causes obesity because the total energy consumption may lead to unhealthy weight gain. In my opinion, the solutions that can be provided by the governments are conducting direct interventions and implementing policies related to these problems. Firstly, this phenomenon is becoming popular among young people, who are mostly students. Therefore, involving the schools to promote education program about healthy lifestyle and diet guidelines become an effective way to reduce sugar consumption among young people. Besides, implementing an effective tax on sugary beverages also becomes a solution for the governments. Thus, people will reduce buying such drinks and prefer to buy other healthier drinks. In conclusion, the phenomenon of drinking sugary beverages causes a lot of health problems, including diabetes and obesity. The most effective solutions that can be provided by the governments are promoting healthy lifestyle education program and implementing a sugary beverage tax.