online shopping has becoming increasingly popular. Why do people go shop online? What are the environmental problems cause by this trend

It is certainly true that online shopping is increasing in popularity in recent years. In this essay, I will illustrate the reason for this outbreak and the adverse impact on the environment caused by this issue. The obvious reason that people prefer to shop online is that the Internet provides a huge variety of choices for consumers to choose. When people are surfing the Internet, they can find out that there are various items that they can buy with, for instance shoes, clothes and households, which is convenient for them. Some of them even offer more discounts than buying from the reality shops which helps to save money with a loyalty card. Furthermore, people are also allowed to compare prices between different shops just by clicking a button. As people now live in a fast paced environment, they have to race against the clock for studies and work. Having this function can help customers to save time from shopping around. However, having too much virtual shopping will cause various negative effects on our environment. Firstly, they will cause a myriad of pollutants. As I mentioned, the prices of the products are extremely cheaper than in the reality shops, people will folk into the website and buy it, despite the product's usefulness. After they receive items, they will suddenly not be fond of them and as a result, they will become garbage. This will result in the landfill saturation, lots of pollution problems will occur, for example water pollution and air pollution. In conclusion, although shopping online is very convenient, cheaper and saves time. However, it might cause a lot of environmental problems, water pollution and air pollution.