WHAT IS TECHNOLOGY FOR THE ENVIRONMENT: A DESTRUCTIVE FORCE OR A SOLUTION? DO WE NEED TO STOP USING TECHNOLOGY TO SAVE THE ENVIRONMENT?

The 21st century has begun with the precedence of manifold technological advancements and by extension, the focus on environmental protection. However, the role of technology in ecological preservation remains equivocal as to whether it is deleterious or not. The following essay shall examine technological impacts on the environment before a reasoned conclusion can be drawn. Technological developments have revolutionized the way people live, yet at the same time led them further into the depths of catastrophe in the form of climate change and resource depletion. Air pollution, which is a pressing problem of the modern era, occurs due to the introduction of excessive quantities of gas into the atmosphere. The main sources all relate to technologies that emerged following the industrial revolution such as the burning of fossil fuels, manufacturing, mass agriculture, and transportation. Also, resource depletion is another negative impact of technology on the environment. This refers to the fast consumption of resources, which is more often than not faster than they can be replenished. Since the industrial revolution, large-scale mineral and oil exploitation has been escalating, contributing to more natural resource depletion as resources enter the production lines. These downsides have clearly underlined the fact that technology can act as a detrimental agent to the environment in several ways. Nonetheless, technology is merely a social construct responding to humans’ cultural, political, and economic demands and priorities. The underlying culprit of environmental issues is not the technology itself, but the way humans use it. Therefore, it should not be forgotten that technology can also play a role in ecological preservation. A prime example of these technological innovations is solar panels. By making a transition to renewable sources of energy, technology can help reduce humans’ dependence on non-renewable ones and spare more time for natural resources to replenish. Abolishing technology for the sake of the environment means cutting off an inextricable link between humans and technology and wiping out all the plausible developments that technology can bring about. Furthermore, if the advances of technology were to be completely halted, people would return to traditional practices of farming, energy production that will exert an adverse impact on the environment as a whole. As mentioned earlier, humans are the key factor in how technology can be used and its impact on the environment. Thus, technology should be fully utilized through a shift towards a more sustainable, low-carbon economy. By opting for environmental technology or green energy, humans can foster the development of new technologies which aim to conserve, monitor, and reduce the negative impact of technology on the environment and the consumption of resources. In conclusion, notwithstanding some technological demerits on humankind, it is undoubted that it has greatly contributed to the enhancement of environmental surroundings. Therefore, to maximize its benefits to the full potential, governments should meticulously reinforce more stringent laws to punish unethical companies that do harm to the environment and aid people in gearing towards sustainability lifestyles by applying technological devices into their lives.