what is important in a career

1. Career is a lot of your life When you factor out sleep, your job is pretty much half of your life. That’s no small amount. So if your job is something you either hate or are indifferent about, that’s about half of your life you either hate or are indifferent about. Not good. We will spend a significant amount of time at work, so it’s important to make sure that time isn’t killing your soul. The simple fact that career is a significant portion of one’s life should be enough to convince one of the importance of it. Be we’ll continue on. 2. It affects who you are at home If you think your work won’t affect who you are outside of the office, think again. Many people who hate their job also develop unhealthy habits. Some of those habits can be emotionally eating, alcohol, drugs, television, depression, or simply being quick to anger. When our work is unfulfilling, we need to cope somehow. These coping mechanisms can have significant negative affects. They involve avoiding the issue rather than addressing it directly. Having a career that aligns with who you are will make you an energetic, positive, and makes your life outside of work better. Your friends and family will notice the difference between when you like what you do and when you don’t.