What is free trade? What are the advantages and disadvantages of free trade?

Free trade agreements are treaties that regulate the tariffs, taxes, and duties that countries impose on their imports and exports Free trade causes international specialisation. If there were no international trade, many countries would have to go without some products. Thus, Iceland would have no coal, Nepal no oil, Spain no gold and Britain no tea. Moreover, specialization leads to an increase in total production. Besides, free trade will have a great variety of products and increases the world production and the world consumption of internationally traded goods as every trading country produces only the selected goods at lower costs. On account of free trade, the consumers of the different countries get the best quality foreign goods, often of a wider range of choice, at low prices. On the contrary, free trade sometimes creates rivalry and frictions among the trading nations. In other words, commercial rivalries resulting from trade often lead to war such as trade war between America and China. In addition, if foreign goods are imported freely, the domestic industries of the developing countries would not be able to develop rapidly due to the superior strength of foreign industries.