What is advertising should do to attract people?

I bought many things which is advertised, but I didn't buy a lot of things which is advertised. So, I can understand both these views. One opinion is that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. I can partly agree this opinion. I experienced that I bought an item, because advertising it at many place. For example, I wanted to buy very popular comic which advertised at a lot of place such as stations, trains, buses, convenience stores, on the TV, on the YouTube, and I finally bought it. However, I didn't pay attention advertising and didn't buy an item which advertised many times. So, I didn't perfectly agree this view. I partly agree it. Another opinion is advertising so common that we no longer pay attention to it. I partly agree this opinion. Because I payed attention advertising and bought an item which advertised some times, but I didn't do that many times. For example, I will not pay attention advertising which introduce girl's toy, and I will not buy it, even thought I see it's advertising every minuets. So, I partly agree and disagree both these views. My own opinion is that if advertising consider and match what a person is interested, advertising is successful at getting attention and persuading us to buy it. I think that when I payed attention to advertising and wanted to buy things which are advertised, it is what I am interested or what I wonder buy or not. And when I didn't that, advertising item is what I am not interested. So, I think when people make advertising, they should consider and investigate not only how show it and how make people to buy it, but also what person like and what social trendy goods to attract people attention.