What education serves for has become a controversial issue recently

What education serves for has become a controversial issue recently. Some people believe that education can act as a bridge between individuals and their ambitions, while others insist that education can make them valuable and worthy to society. For me, both views have their own validity. For some people, those who receive enough education are more likely to accomplish their own goals. First, schooling is able to assist students to arm themselves with knowledge. In order to achieve their ambitions, it is essential to have a solid professional knowledge system, which would let them feel comfortable when they cope with professional problems. Also, education can help people achieve their dreams by expanding their social networks and enhancing their personal connections because school is an ideal place to make new friends. People always say that in life, it is not about what you know, but who you know. This means networking is a key to success, especially during the lowest low. In the 1990s, with the assistance of Bill Gates, Steve Jobs rescued Apple Inc, so that we are now able to get access to all Apple products. Therefore, with a stronger social bond, people are more likely to get help from friends; thus, achieving their ambitions. So much for the personal ambitions, other people believe that making a contribution to society is also a purpose of education. As our country develops, a roaming number of well-educated graduates is needed to make up for the shortage of talents, especially in some remote areas. Therefore, universities should shoulder this responsibility. Several years ago, a targeted-area students’ program was launched at Chongqing Medical University in order to improve medical conditions in rural areas. After their four-year undergraduate program, students would be assigned to a certain village or a small town to work. Those well-educated individuals would provide villagers with more advanced treatments and medical equipment, so local residents do not need to travel to major cities to get cured. For my perspective, these two opinions are not paradoxical, and they can serve for our lives together. Being useful to society does not mean that people cannot achieve their own goals, instead, in most situations, fulfilling our dreams also can make us valuable to society.