Countries With A Long Average Working Time Are More Economically Successful Than Those Countries Which Do Not Have A Long Working Time

Since the advent of industrialization, there is a huge rise in the competition levels across the world. In fact, this change has lead to an increase in the number of working hours at the workplace, and some people insist that the nations with increased working times have developed financially more than those countries which do not extend their working hours. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint and this essay will elaborate on the same in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. To commence with, the employees working more than the regular / fixed hours are unlikely to have the ideal work-life balance. This explicitly has an adverse effect on their health and wellbeing and consequently impacts the work productivity. For instance, extensive research conducted by Times of India has revealed that several companies in India where employees are forced to work overtime have reduced productivity. The study also mentioned that this phenomenon has a negative impact on the overall economy of the country. One more reason why prolonged working hours do not improve a country’s financial status is the negative impact the long hours has on the health of the employees. This is because weary workers are more likely to develop various kinds of chronic diseases in their lifetime. Needless to say, unhealthy citizens directly or indirectly limit the growth prospects of the country. To exemplify, Russia has a great number of highly intelligent working people but at least one out of the five working professionals are suffering from a chronic disease such as diabetes and high blood pressure. To conclude, workers working more than the usual hours do not make a country economically well-developed because the extensive hard work decreases employees’ work-life balance and also leads to their poor health condition.