These days, young people know less about their culture and traditions. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? (Type 4b – expository and Opinion essay)

Nowadays, culture and traditions are not familiar among the younger generations. There are several reasons why this is happening and I believe that this is a negative development. Youngsters are attracted more towards popular culture. One of the major reason is that young people are dominated by Western influence. Western culture is getting popular in many countries and especially it bridges the gap between differing cultures. Youngster wants to learn and get attracted to new things. They like to lead their lifestyle relevant to the modern world. Another reason is that many people leave their home country and want to pursue their education or job abroad. In general, they get accustomed to new traditions and tend to forget their traditional values and culture in which they have grown. Some people don’t return to their home country and get permanently settled in abroad. They forget to teach their children about their own traditions and culture from the origin they come from. Therefore, after 2 to 3 generations, youngsters will not know their own traditions and culture of their origin. I believe that the above changes have been negative for the following reasons. In the first place, every culture and tradition got his own values. Studies have shown that some traditions have scientific reasons for the ways of things they practice and also some medical remedy in case if one falls sick. Therefore, the lack of awareness has made many people to treasure the past of their traditions and culture. Furthermore, many people who settle in abroad are slowing losing their contact with their family members in their home country. Young people fail to see the value of their ancestor’s culture and traditions. This leads to erode their cultural identity and thereby lose their cultural diversity. In conclusion, because of Western culture domination in society, people have fewer knowledge on their own culture and traditions. This development is negative as people fail to see the value and benefits of their own traditions. Given this situation, it is recommended that people should always practice their culture and traditions even if they are living in abroad as their children’s will get know their origin and bring along the good values and deeds.