. What does silence indicate in conversations? Does it always indicate the same thing (e. g. approval or disapproval)?

Nonverbal communication is the transfer of information through the use of body language including eye contact, facial expressions, gestures. Besides, silence is also an effective indicate in conversation. It is often argued that silence always indicates the same thing. This essay disagrees that silence’s thing in conversation is similar. It is clear that silence can serve many functions in a conversation. This is one tool that many therapists and investigators use. Silence can serve many functions in a conversation. When you are subjected to silence, it feels like pressure, and you are likely to reveal something you had decided not to disclose. People in power use silence as a strategy. Silence may sometimes indicate hostility or disagreement. When we experience anger, fear, or embarrassment, our cognitive mind shuts down. Silence can indicate profoundness, such as respect, awe, or horror. It can indicate contemplation or empathy, or authority and power. Silences create a listening space and deepen your understanding of others and yourself. “Speech is silver, but silence is golden” Furthermore, the Day of Silence protest which has taken place every year since 1996 is a day in which students use their silence as a tool to get people to stand up for LGBT rights. Another incentive for my support is that silence can be an asset and an effective strategy in negotiations. It can mean different things to different people and in different situations – some positive, some negative, and many neutrals. For instance, In Japan, if you are making a presentation to a group and the most senior Japanese closes his eyes and is silent, it can mean conflicting things contracts to Americans, they often see silence as indicating the person is indifferent, angry, or disagreeing with them. Thus, silence can serve many purposes and functions both in our personal and professional lives. How you manage it determines your level of sophistication in communication. Open your mouth only if what you are going to say is more beautiful than the silence. ” Spanish Proverb.