Distinguish cultural generalizations from stereotypes. Give specific examples. (200words)

In intercultural conversations, we make a big distinction between stereotypes and generalizations. If you remember only one idea from this conversation, remember these Generalizations are helpful, Stereotypes are hurtful. These two concepts are often confused because they both involve making broad statements about a group of people. This is where the similarity ends. One of the things that can happen in the context of discussing culture is falling into the stereotypes and generalizations of a cultural group or norm. It is important to recognize the difference and the impact these factors have on cultural interactions. In general, stereotypes are negative statements and interpretations made about a group of people. Stereotypes, whether deemed positive or negative, place people into boxes and categories and limit them to those specific perspectives. . An individual may observe, for example, five people from that group acting similarly. If he then says, “All people from that group act like that, ” he is guilty of stereotyping. You can hear such comments as Asians are good at math, ” which does not provide the complete picture someone needs to understand the Asian culture or the differences between Asian cultures. (although some stereotypes can be positive as well). By contrast, generalizations of cultures are broad statements based on facts, experiences, examples, or logic. There are two kinds of generalizations, valid and faulty, and it is your role to determine which generalizations have validity behind them. In addition, Broad characterization of cultural groups can serve as a framework for cultural interactions. A generalization is more likely to be true because it is based on something that the majority of the population actually are like - and that can be really helpful to know. “ Judging a large topic by a small detail”. the Arab has often been portrayed as a wealthy sheik or a terrorist, the Frenchman as a “womanizer”, and the Native American as a wild warrior to be a good case in point. However, there are now citizen organizations as well as political groups that condemn and, therefore, influence the media when a group has been wrongly represented. This type of organized reaction to cultural stereotypes is positive and healthy. In a multi-cultural society, people must learn to become increasingly sensitive to the needs of many ethnic groups. Taking everything into consideration, I would say that seating arrangements was create that align with our instructional goals and activities so we can maximize student learning. “ don’t judge a book by its cover” English idiom.