What do you think has been the negative impact of the various social media networking sites and apps? Describe both for an individual as well as the society.

Social networking sites, such as Facebook, are thought by some to have had a pernicious effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to individual, I agree that have had a damaging effect on the local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media has had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together through such sites as Facebook whereas, before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone out of their immediate circle or community. Secondly facebook also has social groups, which offers individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussions with people who share common interests. On the other hand, the effect that facebook and other social networking sites have had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative, rather than individual people talking part in their local community, they are instead choosing to take more interest in people online. Consequently, people with local communities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to meet in the future. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society or local communities. Local communities should do more to try and involve local citizens in activities in order to promote the future of community life.