What discovery in the last century has been the most beneficial for your country?

To begin with, I will highlight that the last 3 centuries were the source of a vast majority of modern technologies: electrical currents, the internet, television, and antibiotics are all the greatest inventions that improved life’s standards in various countries. In my opinion, the introduction of the internet was a game-changer in my country of residence – Belarus. I will explore the reasons and ideas to support my opinion in this essay. I consider that one of the main reasons for the discovery of the internet was greatly meaningful for Belarusians is their historical and cultural residence. The internet came, in a form that is known today, to Belarus in the period from the 1990ies to the first decade of the 21st century. Obviously, there was some presence of internet activity in the 1950ies, but it was spread later. Consequently, the history of Belarus dictates that the USSR split up in 1991; therefore, as many know, that country was famous for being closed. A little number of people had an opportunity to actually travel and explore the world as it was, ergo; the internet was and still is revolutionary. People now have an opportunity to find unbiased and honest information; they can now see the truth. It has noticeably switched the focus and turned the usual routine upside down. Moreover, practically all representatives of modern generations, from X to Z, have been seen doing some kind of online activity, practically everyone has an internet presence and leaves a digital footprint daily. Globally, the internet is one of the greatest and most dangerous findings that ever happened. For example, my extended family consists of many age groups: from four to 75, so, any of these people, if given an extraordinary and unexpected task, would have gone online searching for an answer. We immerse ourselves into the digital world, and, undoubtedly, there is no chance left to escape. However, my question is whether there is even a point to try to survive without access to the internet when it just simplifies our lives. From my point of view, we have evoked a lot recently; therefore, the chances we go back to the roots are extremely low. In conclusion, the internet is a part of our lives, and, locally speaking, it is a game-changer in my country. Everybody now scrolls up and down, logs on and off, clicks on constantly. It is a culture we have because of historical events that took place earlier. There is no other option than to embrace it.