What company do if they start to lose market share

Personally, there are some key strategies that company can deploy to regain the market share if they start losing. All of these ways have particular advantages, yet they are still risky for several reasons. First of all, the most straightforward way to gain back market share is to cut prices. Companies hope that decreasing prices will attract customers away from opponents. This strategy is easy to be seen in big companies which have high economies of scale that allow them to operate at either a lower marginal cost than their competitors. In spite of the fact that the positive point is a higher market share, the margins per unit will be lower. Once prices decline, it can be hard to regain them, only if the company increases enough market share to drive its rival out of competition. One of another way is to change advertising methods, including raising the budget or utilizing the power of the business brand. It depends on how well the business leader identify their facing issues because promoting approach can be very successful or it just a costly and wasted time process. For example, Coca-Cola was ranked as the leading carbonated soft drink company in the United States due to a wisely marketing strategy. In contrast, Pepsi - Coca Cola's market challenger - was ranked at a second place as facing the lack of ideals of promoting their products. Last but not least, a company can renew its product to meet customer needs or to provide something new. This strategy can be combined with a price increase to introduce another aspect of differentiation or to position the company's offering as a premium product. Offering new or updated products can work in the short term, but if a company can no longer innovate and generate new and novel products that consumers will demand in the future, it will not have a lasting effect. In conclusion, when a company loses its market share to a competitor, there are a few ways that they can try and gain it back. All of these strategies have their pros and cons and none are guaranteed to work, but they will start a company on the right path to becoming more competitive again.