What causes online addiction? Hw can it be solved?

Currently in a rampant technology period, advent of internet has indeed revolutionized the life styles of people. Nowadays, almost every other person, from all ages, has an access to internet. This ever-increasing availability of internet has drawn adequate challenges, especially among young generation. First of all, with the opportunity of surfing internet, playing games on computer, people have adopted a more sedentary lifestyle. For instance, children no longer play out- door sports instead of it; they prefer playing games online at home. This attitude creates a harmful effect on their health and can cause problem such as obesity. Another problem is that internet usage may tend to reduce the thinking skills of children. It is observed that most of students surf internet for finding solutions to their assignments. For instance, they usually solve even simple arithmetic equation with the help of internet. Consequently, students cannot do basic mathematical tasks mentally which in turn has impact on their intellectual and analytical skills. A third problem is that not all the websites are useful. Information contained in some sites is not suitable for children. Some internet sites such as forums and chat rooms could even be dangerous because you do not know who you are communicating to, as the identities could be fake too. Furthermore, internet creates a communication gap among children and parents. Young generation enjoy spending their leisure time on internet, so they get disconnected from family and ultimately it could have an effect on social behaviour. Parents play an important role in controlling excess use of internet by children. They should indulge them into other extracurricular activities and hobbies so that they may spend less number of hours on internet. Also, it is important for children to share considerable time with parents rather than socializing online all the time. Teachers should encourage students to use other means of information apart of internet. To conclude, I think internet has brought many benefits to our lives. However, its misuse may create drastic discrepancies. From my point of view, one should use internet but wisely and sensibly and reap enormous advantages from its usage.