Should governments censor the Internet for the welfare of students and citizens?

Censorship is an act of government restriction on citizens as to what they should read, see and hear. Undemocratic and authoritarian governments have been doing it for centuries. This essay argues that allowing governments to control a very powerful and fast medium like the Internet is not an acceptable proposition since it is likely to misguide students and adults. To begin with, the information technology, one of the most evolutionary ideas of the contemporary world, is a mine of information and a source for innovation ideas. It is an excellent tool to do research on any topic and a great medium of entertainment. For example, now people can take degrees from prestigious universities of alien lands while staying at home. The possibility for quick business transactions, which is a contribution of the Internet, has created millions of new jobs. However, young students’ have unsupervised access to the Internet is a cause for alarm. Some Pornographic and misleading websites with antisocial elements might disturb them. Instead of governments censoring the Internet to tackle this problem, let children use the Internet only under the effective guidance of parents or teachers. Besides, using technology to block unhealthy and pornographic websites from children is another option. Another reason to consider is that societies, which guarantee the fundamental rights, are progressive. Freedom of expression of any media, including the Internet, has its immense significance. Also people have the right to information and it is being accepted in progressive societies. No government has the authority to violate these basic human rights. To conclude, our hard-won freedom should not be surrendered to the whims and fancies of dictatorial forces. True democratic values prevail only when there is a free flow of informational and ideas.