What can the government do in order to reduce rubbish

Day by day people are more concerned about the amount of rubbish that we, as society and human beings, produce. Be it as it may, let's try to analyze this phenomenon in order to make it understadable for everyone. The main reason is, even though it sounds pretty obvious, human activity. It was not a big issue until the beginning of the 19 centurie, as the population grew almost logaritmically since then. It is logicall, isn't it? The more people in the planet, the more rubbish we produce. However, a big problem about this rise is that the developing countries (almost every country in the world) were not consuming so much resources because of the poverty. But currently they are in process of building their own societies from zero, what requires a giant amount of resources. Not to mention their inexistent ecologicall politics, what leads to overpollution of our oceans, air and nature. In addition to that, we have to consider the fact that our first world governments are often using this lack of awareness in the developing countries to get rid of our own rubbish instead of processing it according our laws. And the reason, as always, is economical. Nobody can discuss this argument. Recently GreenPeace and other European agencies have proven it tracking our garbage through Africa and Asia, finding of course thechnological rests and clothes in countries like Egypt, Ukraine or China, which were sent to recycling plants in the European Union. With that being said, the only thing the government should do, is not to send our rests to the third world in order to avoid our reponsabilities about our own rubbish. And the most important thing, not expect us, the citizens, to believe in the politicians if they let other do their job in exchange of money.