If you could change one historical event that occurred in your country in the 20th century, what would you change and why? Please note that this does need to be a real, historical event that occurred between the years 1900-1999.

Although steel tycoon Carnegie was pro-union, he and right hand man Frick wanted to break the Amalgamated Association of Iron and Steel Workers to drive down steel prices. Carnegie’s money beat the union on legal and popular fronts. I would reverse Homestead to labor’s win. If Homestead stayed peaceful despite Carnegie’s Pinkertons and state militia, then the nonviolent nature of the strike juxtaposed with violent oppression would have solicited strong public support. A labor “win” would shift power from employers to employees. Though a Homestead labor win wouldn’t immediately reverse hostile lobbyists, Congressmen, or courts, public pressure would more favor labor laws like the NLRA, LMRDA, WARN Act, and other regulatory frameworks in the 20th century. Rather than going in blind against big tech trusts like Facebook and Google, a Homestead win would have set legal precedents we could follow in these uniquely trying times. Nowadays, we see that COVID resignations have given workers more leverage to bargain for better conditions and pay. Only 2021’s tight labor market created favorable conditions for organizing firsts like the Buffalo success for the Starbucks Worker Union. Our unemployment crisis has shown firsthand the unprecedented effects fed-up laborers can have on the economy. In changing Homestead’s aftermath to labor’s win, more stringent regulations protecting the right to unionize would pass and reduce predatory backdoor union-busting tactics like sweet-talk, implied scares, explicit threats, vote inflation, and the like. The lives of vulnerable workers would be less miserable when given the chance for more training and the hope for better compensation. When more staff can support each other shift to shift, those living paycheck to paycheck won’t be squeezed of every drop of their time.