Recall any folk/mythical/religious short story that you might have heard/seen/read as a child and discuss what you liked most about it and how do you see it now as a distinctive social/cultural text with its own moral/ideology and how does it speak to you now.

Beauty and the Beast A beautiful enchantress cloaked as an old beggar woman arrives at a castle during a ball and offers the host, a cruel and selfish prince, a rose in return for shelter from a storm. When he refuses, she reveals her identity. As punishment for the prince's lack of compassion, the enchantress transforms him into a beast and his servants into household objects. She casts a spell on the rose and warns the prince that the spell will only be broken if he learns to love another, and earn their love in return before the last petal falls, or he will remain a beast forever. Some years later, in the small town of Villeneuve, Belle, the book-loving daughter of an inventor named Maurice, dreams of adventure. She constantly brushes off advances from Gaston as he is not the type of man Belle wishes to marry. On Maurice's way to a convention and lost in the forest, he seeks refuge in the Beast's castle, but the Beast imprisons him for stealing a rose from his garden as a gift to Belle. When Maurice's horse returns without him, Belle ventures out in search for him, and finds him locked in the castle dungeon. Belle tricks both her father and the Beast by asking for a simple hug goodbye from her father, she pushes him out and locks herself in the dungeon. The Beast agrees to let her take her father's place and forces Maurice to leave immediately. Belle befriends the castle's servants, who invite her to a dinner. When she wanders into the forbidden west wing and finds the rose, the Beast scares her into the woods. She is ambushed by a pack of wolves, but the Beast rescues her, becoming injured in the process. As Belle nurses his wounds, a spark develops between them. The Beast shows Belle a gift from the enchantress, a book that transports readers wherever they want. Belle uses the book to visit her childhood home in Paris, where she discovers a plague doctor mask and realizes that she and her father were forced to leave when her mother succumbed to the plague. In Villeneuve, Maurice fails to convince the other villagers of the Beast and Belle's imprisonment. Gaston, seeing rescuing Belle as an opportunity to win her hand in marriage, agrees to help Maurice. When Maurice learns of his ulterior motive and rejects him, Gaston abandons him to be eaten by the wolves. Maurice is rescued by the town hermit Agathe, but when he tells the townsfolk of Gaston's crime and is unable to provide solid evidence, Gaston convinces them to send Maurice to an asylum. After sharing a romantic dance with the Beast, Belle discovers her father's predicament using a magic mirror. The Beast releases her to save Maurice, giving her the mirror to remember him with. Realizing that Belle loves the Beast, a jealous Gaston claims she has been charmed by dark magic, and has her thrown into the asylum carriage with her father. He rallies the villagers to follow him to the castle to slay the Beast before he curses the whole village. Inside the asylum carriage, Belle tells her father that she knows what happened to her mother and showed him the rose rattle she took from her magical visit to their home. Maurice and Belle escape, and Belle rushes back to the castle. During the battle, Gaston abandons his companion LeFou, who then sides with the servants to fend off the villagers. Gaston attacks the Beast in his tower, who is too depressed to fight back, but regains his spirit upon seeing Belle return. He defeats Gaston, but spares his life before reuniting with Belle. However, Gaston shoots the Beast from a bridge, which then collapsed as the castle began to crumble, leading Gaston to fall to his death. The Beast then dies as the last petal falls, and the servants become breathless. Belle confesses her love for the Beast and atlast everything becomes normal. The Prince and Belle host a ball for the kingdom, where they dance happily. Perspective- When I was a child I used to take this story of love as a fairytale but there is always some kind of perception inside ‘’love is only about looks what one has”. But I usually got fascinated by the romantic movies as I used to think love is all about romance and caring for each other. When we all were child we didn't knew What is love? Right. This movie show that love is one of the most beautiful feelings in the world. . . . Love is one such feeling that can be expressed in endless ways yet, cannot be defined completely in words but all I can say is that is love is to give away everything, to sacrifice everything, without the slightest desire to get anything in return. When I got matured I felt that “intelligency, inner-beauty are far more precious than looks what one perceives”. But nowadays, people consider love as to fulfill her desires instead people should have a platonic bond between each other. You all have heard about Krishna and Radha? right. For instance Radha and Krishan also share love which is platonic. Through Belle and also from my point of view, the Beast comes to understand that life is precious and meant to be cherished and shared. Life and his place in it is not a commodity to be consumed and waste forever. . At last I want to convey that we should always value inward characteristics such as kindness over other superficial qualities. In this movie Belle valued the inward characteristics of Beast, and fell in love with him despite his outward appearances that is what we all called “love”….