What can be the causes of traffic jam in Ho Chi Minh City?

In recent years, traffic congestion has been a major issue in Ho Chi Minh City. It occurs on a daily basis, trapping hundreds of thousands of vehicles, wasting time and billions of dollars, and causing problems in all aspects of society. Many solutions have been implemented, but these short-term fixes have not prevented traffic congestion from worsening in the city. This essay will discuss the main reasons of the gridlock and then describe the possible effects of the problem. In my opinion, the foremost cause of traffic jam in Ho Chi Minh City is the overpopulation. According to the 2020 population report that there are about 4. 292 people per square kilometer. Therefore, it leads to the increase of personal vehicles, a nightmare for those stuck in the crowd during the rush hour. Moreover, the poor transport infrastructure, unsynchronized planning is a part of the cause. During the rainy season, many parts in Ho Chi Minh City have to suffer from flooded days, and some damaged routes. Finally, poor awareness of traffic rules is a big problem. These days, the word “Lead Ninja” is always frightening people. They ride carelessly, turn on the wrong signs, which confuses other people, while other groups of young citizen hold some illegal race at midnight in the city. Owing to all above reasons, the major aftermath is the raise of the traffic accident rate in the city. Another detrimental consequence of heavy traffic is the release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, which contributes to the problem of global warming. Traffic jams may also have a negative effect on a person's mind. Excessive noise emission is caused by road congestion and frequent horn blowing. Hence, the sooner the government addresses this important problem, the sooner residents will have a high standard of life. The only option, though, is to raise up everyone in the country's knowledge of traffic laws.