what can be done to discourage people from using their cars

It is an undeniable fact that the increasing usage of personal vehicle may result in several harmful effects both for people and the environment, such as global warming and causing various long-lasting disease in human’s body like cancer. It should be an alarm for each society to cut down on using cars as much as possible to prevent these consequences. In this article I'm going to cite two solutions which may help people do this. Firstly, governments can set a particular limit for car travels. By that I mean, to announce a proper number of distance that cars would be allowed to go during a specific period of time, a year for instance. Provided that driving beyond this distance would lead the owner of the vehicle toward a considerable punishment. To my opinion, this method may make residents to manage their annual travels like how people in some countries do with their limited proportion of petrol during a month or a year. Another practical way is to make public transport system so convenient and economic that people may get more encouraged to use them instead of their own car. If airplane or train ticket will be much cheaper or more trip packages will be arranged, more people form whatever economic class can afford to purchase them. It is entirely understandable that this method can add a lot to the expenditure of a government. But there may be some techniques that would help authorities to make decisions that have the least drawbacks. In summary, it is true that driving personal cars have so many disadvantageous for our world and some noticeable actions should be taken. In my view, limiting the amount of distance of a vehicle throughout a year and promoting the quality of public transport system and lowering its fare can help people cut down on car usage.