Exam Results Are Not The True Reflection Of A Student’s Intelligence

It is a widely held view that true intelligence can only be measured with the amount of knowledge, not the marks of an academic test. It is often believed that a student who works hard can actually get fewer marks than a student who studies selectively if he or she gets common questions in the paper. To some extent, I agree up to the point. Firstly, I partially agree that the scope of a student’s ability cannot be fully captured with academic competence. The CEO of Microsoft once boasted that he failed some subjects in a university but some employees are the one who passed the exams. Thus, as I see it, exam marks are not the definition for your future. Not only that, while grades are being used as the most common way to determine a student’s intelligence, they may not always be reliable. Several kids these days are very smart and intelligent but get poor grades in examinations. So, this is proving that exam grades are not an accurate way of reflecting one's overall intelligence. At the same time, we need the formal system to distinguish between a student’s ability and the amount of experience and knowledge a student processes, otherwise the entire academic system will not work. For instance, how could a teacher possibly test whether a student studies or not? In other words, an exam is a force to let students study and review the lessons. I strongly believe that exams have a clear and measurable guideline to test them in an impartial manner. Although we can convince our parents that marks do not define our future, we should not take advantage of it. The point is to make an effort which could reflect your final result. Hence, I suppose that intelligence can’t be graded by the means of an exam.