What are the reasons for this behaviour and what action can be taken?

It’s no secret that overconsumption has gone through the roof in recent years. More and more people buy stuff that is pretty much useless to them and often they don’t even have the required financial status to explain this behavior. As a result, they’re constantly in debt, paying off installments and interest fees. However, what exactly leads to these types of behaviors and, most importantly, how can citizens discipline themselves in order to avoid buying stupid stuff. One may be rightfully wondering, which factors drive individuals to this extent. Surely, the need to impress and copy others is the culprit. When we see movies with rich people enjoying lavish lifestyles, people feel as though their lifestyles, possessions, and achievements are not good by society’s standards. In other words, we look at a very small minority of people that are a bit wealthier and believe that every single citizen should have that type of financial status. Moreover, people tend to buy expensive and luxury goods to impress others and enjoy the attention their fake lavish lifestyle gets. This feeling of inferiority and the need to impress other citizens, ultimately, lead individuals to purchase things they cannot afford and portray lifestyles that are far from the truth. This issue leads to the problem of overconsumption and debt. Governments ought to take measures as soon as possible in a bid to deal with these problems. For instance, a newly introduced school subject that teaches students concepts related to financial literacy would result in more adults that are responsible with their money. What humans lack in these types of situations and scenarios is adequate education. If society was a bit wiser and smarter with their choices, everyone would understand that buying things you cannot afford is not only beneficial for themselves but for the whole nation too. People wouldn’t take out loans or agree on installments and, as a result, none of the two parties would be in debt. All in all, people getting into debt by making stupid purchases is a serious issue that needs to be dealt with quickly. Proper education is enough to combat all the factors that lead to this situation and responsible usage of money, in turn, benefits the whole nation.