“Should teachers give students much homework? ” Write a composition to express your idea on this. (You should write within 200-220 words).

Nowadays, homework could be a controversial topic. Some people may find it useful and indispensable while some may even see it as unnecessary and disruptive. From my point of view, homework is indeed crucial for students, but teachers should also decrease the amount of given homework. On the one hand, homework is an instrumental task that brings many benefits to students. Firstly, doing homework helps develop self-discipline, which is extremely important not only in studying but also in everyday life. Homework teaches students the way to be accountable for their parts within the academic process. When students are reception, they are by themselves. Hence, students’ skills in searching information online or in managing time are going to be developed. Secondly, homework helps teachers fully know which level their students are at. Through homework, teachers can know how much knowledge the students have acquired, their strengths and weaknesses. Consequently, the teachers are going to be able to find a suitable pedagogy for the students, which may help reinforce or even widen their knowledge. On the other hand, having to do an oversized amount of homework may be really disadvantageous. First of all, an excessive amount of homework can result in students feeling stressed. Doing an excess of homework during a short period of time is often really exhausting and overwhelming for students and it’s going to put them under lots of pressure. This implies students will have to stay up late and reduce the amount of sleep they get. As a result, their health will be badly affected, making students less motivated, unable to focus and pay full attention to their teachers in class due to tiredness and lack of sleep. Second of all, the anxiety of an excessive amount of homework and no time for other activities, such as spending time with friends and family, or playing a sport, can negatively affect students’ mental and physical health. This might lead to their lack of social skills and so on. Students deserve time to participate in their outside-of-school activities so as to refresh their minds. To sum up, teachers should give out a right and reasonable amount of homework so students can consolidate their knowledge and have a good time with their family and friends at the same time.