“Grades (marks) encourage students to learn”. Write an essay (about 150 to 200 words) to express your personal point of view.

In this day and age, many people support the view that grades help motivate students to learn. From my own perspective, there is no denying that grades are of great importance to students, but they can still be disadvantageous at times. On the one hand, there is no doubt that grades play an important role in students’ learning life. Firstly, grades are standard measurements for students’ ability to learn and show their progress in class. By looking at the students’ grades, teachers can already tell which level their students are on, how much knowledge they have acquired, along with their strengths and weaknesses. Consequently, the teachers will be able to find the appropriate teaching method for the students, which may help reinforce or even widen the students’ knowledge. Secondly, grades make studying competitive and encourage students to learn better. Since students can compare their grades with other students, they are able to know everyone’s ability to gain and master the knowledge. Hence, some may set an aim for themselves and put their shoulders to the wheel with a view to surpassing their classmates. On the other hand, grades can also be detrimental to students. First of all, grades may make students feel timid or unconfident in class. Many objective factors can lead to students being unable to give their best during the exams and receiving bad grades, such as sickness, tiredness, not being interested in that certain subject, to name but a few. Bad grades may result in shyness, lack of confidence, or even stress and breakdown due to being put under so much pressure by teachers and parents. Ironically, this would discourage students from learning rather than encourage them to learn. Second of all, students who get good grades may become conceited and arrogant. Those may rest on their laurels and as a result, their grades will eventually go downhill. In summary, it goes without saying that grades are extremely crucial to students. Sadly enough, grades can also be a double-edged sword that can negatively affect students’ mental health.