What are the reasons for students’ low attendance in online lessons at universities?

ABSENTEEİSM IN ONLINE LESSONS Many country education systems universally switched to online lessons with the pandemic. Even before that duration, chronic absenteeism is already one of the most serious problems faced by universities. However, the pandemic is an unpredictable event for the world. Therefore, most countries were unprepared for this situation and students try to get used to this but a high percentage of students couldn’t keep up. There are two reasons why students don’t attendance online lessons; getting lazy and poverty. Firstly, students are getting lazier than past due to they are always at home and they just sit in front of the screen and listen silently to their teacher. Therefore, they are constantly bored of studying. Furthermore, delay in listening to lectures is also an excuse for them since the lectures are always recorded by teachers and they think that it is okay if ı don’t attend the class, ı will definitely watch later. Undoubtedly, they don’t watch the missing lectures anyway. This led to a decrease in the student’s performance on their exams. Secondly, poverty is a serious problem for online lessons as numerous students in the world haven’t an internet connection or electronic devices. A number of families cannot provide that to their child or if they have a few children, electronic devices at home are not adequate or their internet connection isn’t unstable owing to the multiple access. Consequently, there is an inequality between students. Although many charity help people to connect lectures, the number of students is excessive to get rid of this issue In conclusion, the online system is an issue to deal with all over the world. If the world can’t get rid of the coronavirus, this system will be implemented for a long time by governments. Therefore, students are more resistant to studying and remind themselves that the duration of quarantine will finish one day.