What are the reasons behind the increasing rate of crime in the metropolitan cities?

Nowadays, the swelling rate of crime in the metropolitan cities has become a burning issue which require the immediate attention of government to deal with. First of all, amongst the various reasons behind such devastating situation of law & order in the prime cities is illiteracy. As the juvenile criminals are not educate & mature enough to judge between the right & wrong in demanding situations. The second main reason for being a criminal is the unsound financial condition of some people undoubtedly the destitute who are in dire need of money to fulfill their basic needs like food, clothing & shelter & when they fail to do so they have to choose the unethical means to earn the money like robbery, burglary, chain snatching, contract killing & so on. The last but not the least is the drug addiction that entice the young generation to go for the criminal activities to arrange for their daily dose of drugs that seized them physically & mentally.