Companies are responsible only for making money for their investors. Therefore, they should not be held accountable for the environmental and social costs of their business activity to society as a whole. Businesses should do no more than concentrate on making profit. with this opinion?

Nowadays, it is argued that the only goal of business is to make profit, therefore, it is more important for companies to be lucrative than to take responsibility for their effects on the environment and society. Although this opinion shows some good points to some extent, I strongly disagree with it. On the one hand, it is understandable that companies need money to survive in the extremely competitive business world and remain the stable status quo so that they could attract more investors and guarantee their employees’ wages. Furthermore, it would be harsh to blame all responsibilities on them because environmental and social costs are not only their problems. On the other hand, in terms of society, it is unacceptable that these companies put profit above humans. In fact, society provides them with the necessary human resources and if they solely concentrate on the profit and how to lure more clients, their employees may be exploited and turned into profit-making machines to contribute excessively for the company and it could affect their mental and physical health. In some developed country, this kind of situation provokes many bad incidents for salaried workers such as increase in depression, death committed suicide, etc. What’s more, in terms of environment, it is nature which gives them the raw materials for their production. However, instead of using an eco-friendly system to eliminate the pollutants, some corporations choose to discharge directly into the rivers or air and deteriorate the habitats of other animals and even humans. It is time for them to stop taking everything for granted and they must take responsibility for environmental protection. In conclusion, I reckon that companies have their own difficulties and they need to focus on making profit to survive in the market. Nonetheless, it is essential that they must be held accountable for their effects on environmental and social costs.